Having fun

It was good to have some longer journeys this week; I like driving, especially in my electric car. On Tuesday evening I performed comedy in Newton Abbot, a 200-mile round trip; a little longer than usual due to overnight closures of the Saltash tunnel and on the A30. On the way there I stopped off at the Osprey chargers at Salmon’s Leap. Only one of the sixteen chargers was occupied. By the time I had finished my Italian lesson on Duolingo I had enough charge to get home from Newton Abbot and for my short trip the following morning. I love my new life as a stand-up comedian, what could be better than getting paid to make people laugh, getting free beer and seeing other comedians perform. I just wish it didn’t involve late nights; I am a morning person.

I had a few short trips during the rest of the week and charged the car at home on Wednesday afternoon and again on Friday ready for my trip on Saturday to Bude to see my daughter and also see a friend take part in the Bude sprint triathlon today. I drove to Bude via Newquay to take part in the Children’s Hospice South West Rainbow run. It was great fun. I think I drove just over 400 miles this week and had no issues, as usual, with charging.

I have not seen any interesting electric vehicle articles this week. I think they have been crowded out by election articles and the lead up to the EURO 2024 football tournament. Politicians have been strangely silent on their plans for the transition to electric vehicles. Perhaps it isn’t strange, they probably want to avoid controversy and annoying petrol and diesel drivers. The Labour manifesto contains a commitment to return to the 2030 date to end the sale of new petrol and diesel cars and to accelerate the roll out of new charge points. The Conservative manifesto contains plans to reverse the recent London Ultra Low Emission Zone (ULEZ) and impose restrictions on 20mph speed limits and Low Traffic Neighbourhoods. Strangely they have confirmed they will remain against a pay-per-mile road tax model. With a decline in the amount of tax raised from fuel duty as more people move to electric cars it will be difficult for them to find a system to replace that tax revenue.

**********

The seed of an idea for these blog posts has to grow and I nurture it until it is ready to harvest, then I prepare it so you can digest it. If you found the content useful please consider popping some money into the honesty box. Unlike buying produce at the farm gate, you cannot put the cash in a box because you are reading this online. You can click on the Buy Me a Coffee link below which will take you to a page where by magic (nifty software) a small amount of money will disappear from your account and appear in mine. Don’t worry you are in control all the time. If the post wasn’t helpful, please leave a comment suggesting how it can be improved.

If you like what I say you can buy me a coffee if you want to. Pay for two and I can have cake as well. 

============

Leave a comment